Active Directory, Domain Controller, Windows Server

PowerShell: Export Active Directory Group Members

To accomplish this we can use PowerShell.

In this tutorial, I will walk through the steps for exporting group members to a csv file.

Let’s get started.

Step 1: Load the Active Directory Module

To connect and query an AD group with PowerShell the Active Directory module needs to be loaded.

The Active Directory module can be installed with the following methods:

  • Having RSAT tools installed
  • Windows Server 208 R2 and above with the AD DS or AD LDS server roles

You can run the following command to see if you have installed

Get-Module -Listavailable

As you can see I don’t have the module installed.

If you already have the module loaded then jump to step 2, if not following these instructions.

To get the Active Directory module installed on my Windows 10 PC, I will need to download and install the RSAT tools.

With the RSAT tools installed, I run the Get-Module -ListAvailable command again

Now I have the module installed, let’s move on to step 2.

 

Step 2: Find AD Group

If you already know the name of the group, then skip to step 3.

If you’re not sure what the group name is, you can issue the following command to list all Active Directory groups.

get-adgroup -filter * | sort name | select Name

Above, is a screenshot of some of the groups listed in my domain. I had an HR group but wasn’t sure of its complete name, I can see it’s HR full. I’ll use that group in step 3 to list out the members.

Step 3: Use Get-AdGroupMember to list members

The following command will list all members of my HR Full group

Get-AdGroupMember -identity HR Full

You can see the above command provides more details on the group members than I need.

We can filter out the results and just get the member name with this command

Get-AdGroupMember -identity "HR Full" | select name

Perfect, now I just need to export this to csv.

Step 4: Export group members to csv file

The last step is to export the results to a scv file

This is done by adding Export-csv to our above commands. The full command looks like this

Get-ADGroupMember -identity “HR Full” | select name | Export-csv -path C:\Output\Groupmembers.csv -NoTypeInformation

Now I have a csv file of all the members from the HR Full Active Directory group.

Pretty easy right?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.